Anti Social Or A Party Animal

How often do you say “no” to things that would interfere with your goals?

I say no a lot more often now than I used to when I would have described myself as a yes man. I didn’t want to offend or upset anyone. Then. But soon found out always saying yes had some bad repercussions. Being known as someone who always agrees with you can be fair game for the narcissist or plain old nasty man or women who will leap at the chance to befriend you and manipulate you and send you into a spiral of depression. Or just unhappiness.

If someone I don’t know very well asks me to go for a coffee I would probably say no. Better to be known as anti social than a people pleaser. That is a fairly simple interaction but when it comes to work, family, church or anything that involves interaction with crowds or too many people I would say no but if I was comfortable and knew the people fairly well I would say yes. Sometimes I like the company of other people and I have to remember there are some lonely people who are grateful for the company.

Even if it is just for a cappuccino.

And simply “goals” for me is a trouble free life with as few hurdles as is humanly possible. Self awareness is a useful tool.

One thought on “Anti Social Or A Party Animal

Leave a comment